Satch Boogie

Going to check out Joe Satriani @ Massey Hall tonight kind of out of the blue. It’s expensive but how often do you get a chance to see one of the greatest guitar players ever in concert? I’m glad I’m a music nerd right now.

Satriani has been around for a while, and he seems to pop up time to time with something pretty cool. I’m not really a huge fan, but I checked out his recent album, Professor Satchafunkilus and the Musterion of Rock, a little while ago and thought it was pretty good. In fact, I think most of Satch’s recording’s are good. I don’t really have a favourite though. None really starkly stand out that much to me as “the best”, not because any lack musicianship or anything, I have no idea why (a lot of his older work represents 1980’s shred guitar, which can be a bit kitch… not necessarily equaling quality song-writing in my opinion, but to each his own. Whatever I have absolutely nothing on this guy.) However, he did help me a ton with understanding modes.

So upon hearing about the show I sought out some live footage and found a few gems, this stuff will probably be what I’m about to see tonight, can’t wait!

Summer Song

Super Colossal

Cool #9

One thought on “Satch Boogie

Leave a Reply

